NYTB Board Elects Dr. Scott Ahlschwede, D.V.M. President

Saturday, January 20th, 2024

Dr. Scott Ahlschwede, D.V.M. Photo courtesy of Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital.

The Board of Directors of New York Thoroughbred Breeders, Inc. (NYTB) held its first meeting of 2024 on Friday, January 19. The newly seated board unanimously elected Dr. Scott Ahlschwede, D.V.M., to serve as Board President through 2026.

Current NYTB director Seth Gregory, owner of Innisfree Farm and Seth Gregory Bloodstock, was elected to the office of Vice President. The board also elected Lere Visagie, owner of Rockridge Stud, to serve as Secretary-Treasurer.

Dr. Ahlschwede is a shareholder veterinarian with Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital and owner of River Valley Farm. He has previously served as an NYTB director since 2016 and succeeds Thomas J. Gallo, III, managing partner of Dream Maker Racing Stable, Thomas J. Gallo, III Sales Agency, and owner of Blue Stone Farm, who previously served as NYTB President since 2015.

”On behalf of our board of directors and membership, I want to thank Tom for his leadership of NYTB and am thankful he will remain a part of the board with his institutional knowledge. As President, I want to ensure we continue to increase and promote the benefits of breeding and foaling in New York as we work to sustain the Thoroughbred industry in New York and nationwide.”

“I am proud of the work our organization has accomplished under my tenure as President. I look forward to continue working with Scott and our newly elected officers to ensure NYTB remains the unified voice of Thoroughbred breeders in the state,” said Gallo.

NYTB Officers and Board of Directors for 2024:


  • Scott Ahlschwede, D.V.M., shareholder with Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital and owner of River Valley Farm – President
  • Seth Gregory, owner, Innisfree Farm and Seth Gregory Bloodstock – Vice President
  • Lere Visagie, owner, Rockridge Stud – Secretary/Treasurer


  • James Bond
  • Rick Burke
  • Lois Engel
  • Thomas J. Gallo, III
  • Michael Lischin
  • Vivien Malloy
  • Jane McMahon
  • Mallory Mort

Directors Emeritus:

  • Chester Broman
  • Suzie O’Cain
  • Joanne Nielsen

Leave a Reply